MAESTEG TOWN COUNCIL ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the **Annual General Meeting** of the Council held remotely via Microsoft TEAMS and at the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Talbot Street, Maesteg, on TUESDAY, 18th May 2021 at 6:30pm.

PRESENT:	
COUNCILLORS:	A James (Mayor)
	R Collins, AR Davies, P Davies, R Martin, R Lewis,
	S Smith, R Penhale-Thomas, C Reeves, G Thomas,
	L Thomas, I Williams and P White.

An apology for absence was received from Cllrs L Beedle, D K Edwards, P Jenkins, W May.

There were no declarations of interest received from Members present.

1. APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR OF THE COUNCIL 2021/22

RESOLVED: That Councillor AR Davies be appointed Mayor of the Council for 2021-22.

2. <u>APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR OF THE COUNCIL 2021/22</u>

RESOLVED: That Councillor A James be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Council for 2021/22.

3. <u>GOVERNING BODIES OF PRIMARY SCHOOLS</u>

Caerau Primary School	Cllr AR Davies - term ends 2 Sept 2021
Nantyffyllon Primary School	Cllr A James – term ends 7 Apr 2022
Plasnewydd Primary School	Cllr G Thomas – term ends 7 Dec 2022
Garth Primary School	Cllr W May – term ends 2 May 2023
St Mary's & St Patrick's Primary School	Cllr R Collins - terms ends June 2024
Ysgol Gynradd Cynwyd Sant	Cllr AR Davies – terms ends 29 May 2023

Caerau Primary School from September 2021: Cllr AR Davies

<u>RESOLVED:</u> That the above appointments be confirmed.

4. <u>To confirm Membership of the Finance Committee for 2021/22 to carry out</u> <u>Internal Audit Function in compliance with the Account & Audit Regulations:</u>

<u>RESOLVED:</u> That Finance Committee continues as a **FULL COUNCIL** Committee and Cllr C Reeves CHAIR of Committee.

5. To confirm Membership of the Planning Committee for 2021/22:

<u>RESOLVED:</u> Councillors: Mayor AR Davies (Chair), A James, P Jenkins, R Lewis, I Williams

6. To confirm Membership of the Events Committee for 2021/22:

(Meetings open to all Members of Council)

RESOLVED: Councillors: Mayor AR Davies (Chair), P Davies, P Jenkins, R Lewis, L Thomas

7. To confirm Membership of the Rights of Way/Environment Committee for 2021/22:

RESOLVED: Councillors: Mayor AR Davies (Chair), K Edwards, R Lewis, R Martin, S Smith

Co-opted Member: Community Maintenance Officer D Passey

8. To confirm Membership of the Property/Health & Safety Committee for 2021/22:

RESOLVED: Councillors: R Penhale-Thomas (Chair), P Jenkins, R Martin, G Thomas, I Williams.

9. To confirm Membership of the Personnel Committee for 2021/22:

RESOLVED: Councillors: A James (Chair), AR Davies, R Martin, C Reeves, L Thomas.

10.To confirm Membership of the Communications Committee for 2021/22:

RESOLVED:	Councillors: AR Davies (Chair), P Davies, A James,
	R Penhale-Thomas, L Thomas.

- 11.To confirm membership of the Policy Committee for 2021/22:
 - **<u>RESOLVED:</u>** Councillors: C Reeves (Chair), P Jenkins, R Martin, R Penhale-Thomas, P White, I Williams

12. To confirm membership of the Projects Committee for 2021/22:

<u>RESOLVED:</u> Full Council.

13.To confirm membership of the Reading Committee for 2021/22:

<u>RESOLVED:</u> Full Council.

14.To confirm membership of the Standing Orders / Code of Conduct Committee for 2021/22:

<u>RESOLVED:</u> Councillors: I Williams (Chair), L Beedle, P Davies, R Martin, S Smith

15.To confirm the delegate to serve on the BCBC Town & Community Council Forum for 2021/22:

RESOLVED: Councillor: C Reeves.

16.To confirm delegates to serve on the Awen Cultural Trust Group for 2021/22:

<u>RESOLVED:</u> Delegates: R Lewis, C Reeves, G Thomas, I Williams.

17.To confirm delegate(s) to serve on the Llynfi Valley River Care & Environment Group for 2021/22:

<u>RESOLVED:</u> Councillors: R Collins, R Lewis, R Martin.

18.To confirm delegates to serve on the Natural Resources Wales "Spirit of the Llynfi Woodland" Group 2021/22:

RESOLVED: Councillor: A James,

Co-opted Member: Community Maintenance Officer D Passey

19.To confirm the Diversity Champion 2020/21:

RESOLVED: Councillors: R Lewis.

Minutes emailed to all Councillors to Read on 20th May 2021

Read and accepted at a remote meeting of the Council held on 1st June 2021